Over the past few days I’ve had a few visitors to my web site that have http://www.disney.com as the page referrer. And they are coming into several different pages of the site. I am 99% sure that the disney.com home page is not linking to my site. Can anyone think of any reason why someone would be falsifying the page referrer when they visit a site? The only thing I can think of is they are trying to mask their scraping or spidering of the site. Here’s a sample record:
ip.add.re.ss - - [18/Jul/2006:07:55:00 -0400] “GET /path-here HTTP/1.1″ 200 18572 “http://www.disney.com/” “Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; Windows XP 5.1)”
If you're new here, you may want to subscribe to my RSS feed. This allows you to read my newer articles without having to visit the site again. Thanks for visiting! Mike
Posted under Technology, Web-design
This post was written by Michael Clark on July 21, 2006

check this out http://spamhuntress.com/wiki/Somer to the answer of your question.
Myself had the same odd referrers. The same IP add in the URL i gave you above. :p