PlanetMike.com

Blog

Michael Clark's journal of important and not-so-important thoughts.



Support Me

Please support Michael Clark

Last 10 Articles


Categories


Archives


MonthChunks


What Is This? A WordPress Attack Using “PLM”

One of my sites had this very odd entry in it’s log from overnight: (actual URL changed)

http://www.example.com/2005/06/24/title-in-here/%2B%25255bPLM=0%25255d%2BGET%2Bhttp:///2005/06/24/title-in-here/%2B%25255b0,16925,26735%25255d%2B-%25253e%2B%25255bN%25255d%2BPOST%2Bhttp:/wp-comments-post.php%2B%25255b0,0,349%25255d

If you do the hexadecimal recoding a couple times you end up with:

http://www.example.com/2005/06/24/title-in-here/+[PLM=0]+GET+http:///2005/06/24/title-in-here/+[0,16925,26735]+->+[N]+POST+http:/wp-comments-post.php+[0,0,349]

And if you assume the plus marks are actually spaces:

http://www.example.com/2005/06/24/title-in-here/ [PLM=0] GET http:///2005/06/24/title-in-here/ [0,16925,26735] -> [N] POST http:/wp-comments-post.php [0,0,349]

What is this trying to do? The only software I can find referring to PLM is Fred’s ImageMagick Scripts, which I don’t think is right.

Updated information 2008-03-29 11:55am

There have been a lot of requests like this. The first request was on March 7th, 2008 at 11:39:46, and the most recent (the one listed above) was March 29, 2008 at 03:43:01. From these IP addresses:
1 125.93.180.155
1 198.136.32.82
2 212.35.107.52
1 216.171.98.77
1 218.75.120.75
1 24.179.9.153
1 60.247.100.2
1 61.180.239.250
1 71.107.24.99
3 75.127.78.171
1 77.108.76.170
1 78.39.204.114
1 82.198.250.80
1 82.236.218.101
1 85.5.237.228
1 98.25.110.0

The user agent is also varied:
3 “Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 5.5; Windows NT 5.0; .NET CLR 1.1.4322)”
5 “Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; Powermarks/3.5; Windows 95/98/2000/NT)”
6 “Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.0; en-US; rv:1.8b2) Gecko/20050224 Firefox/1.0+”
4 “Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; WinNT4.0; en-US; rv:1.3a) Gecko/20021207 Phoenix/0.5″
1 “Mozilla/5.0 (X11; U; Linux i686; en-US; rv:1.7.5) Gecko/20041107 Firefox/1.0″

Is this actually not an attack, but just some web browsing tool or toolbar that is doing funky things?

Updated information 2008-03-29 12:05pm

Hmmm, another of of my sites also has this type of request in its log.

If you're new here, you may want to subscribe to my RSS feed. This allows you to read my newer articles without having to visit the site again. Thanks for visiting! Mike

2 Responses to “What Is This? A WordPress Attack Using “PLM””

  1. David Kaspar Says:

    I got this recently as well, you are first on Google for PLM ;-)

    The referrer is simpy URL encoded, you can use http://meyerweb.com/eric/tools/dencoder/ to decode it.

    I am pretty sure it is an automated way of submitting spam. There must be an error in the configuration because it should not leave such a juicy trail in the referrer field!

    First it tells some script to get an URL, then it instructs to post to an URL (it is easy to block spam that POSTs directly without getting first).

    The numbers could be relating to what spam message(s) to post (think of it as indexes in a spam DB).

    The qeustion is, can we block it easily with RewriteCond %{HTTP_REFERER}?

  2. jason Says:

    Wow another wordpress attack? Why not just use google blogspot?

Leave a Reply

Comment Policy: First time commenters need to be approved. I reserve the right to tweak your comment, including not publishing it at all, and/or removing the URL you submit. Please include your first and last name.

Subscribe by RSS

Use my RSS feed to stay up to date


WordPress Plugins


Most Popular Posts


Stuff


Copyright © 1997-2008 Michael Boyd Clark
PlanetMike’s Technology Journal is proudly powered by WordPress
Entries (RSS) and Comments (RSS).