PlanetMike.com

Blog

Michael Clark's journal of important and not-so-important thoughts.

You are currently browsing the PlanetMike’s Technology Journal weblog archives for July, 2004.



Support Me

Please support Michael Clark

Last 10 Articles


Categories


Archives


MonthChunks


Archive for July, 2004

Windows Longhorn delayed (Again)! What a shocker!

Saturday, July 31st, 2004 7:33 am

“Microsoft’s first beta of Longhorn, the next major Windows client release, has been delayed until the second half of next year and could delay the expected 2006 release date even more; ” Infoworld.

If you're new here, you may want to subscribe to my RSS feed. This allows you to read my newer articles without having to visit the site again. Thanks for visiting! Mike

Identical Sites?

Wednesday, July 28th, 2004 9:58 am

An interesting study of the primary gurus of web design: These web sites are identical? or are they?.

Idiots at ???.org

Tuesday, July 27th, 2004 10:07 pm

Some loser at a non-profit organization (three-letters followed by dot org) decided to add one of my professional email addresses to their email list. This is called “spam.” They had an opt-out method included in the message. So I followed that process. And got an error message back from their mail server. so I fired off a complaint to the technical contact listed on their web site. Same email address. It still doesn’t work. So I complained to their other technical contact.I’d love to blacklist them form my work mail servers, but I can’t. But I can blacklist them from my personal mail server. Idiots.

PromoAudit.com

Sunday, July 18th, 2004 9:25 am

A new spamhaus: Promoaudit.com. They’ve hit my web site seven times in the last week. Also mentioned in the spam is a company called “FreeSlide.com.” FreeSlide’s web site redirects to a URL at sbase30.com. Other spam I’ve received referencing FreeSlide (going back to March 11, 2004) included references to e-ticket-marketing.com, dealbrick.com, b2c-mail.com, listmx.com, Emsemail1.com, ggoody.com, jumbolia.com, wwww0.com, Majesticfun.com, and mxhs01.net.
Sbase30.com has a link to a “BBB Reliability Program Seal.” That link opens in a new window, where you can’t see the URL. So maybe it isn’t a real BBB Seal? Looking through the page’s source code shows it actually is a real seal, for a company called FreeSlide, also known as subscriberbase.com. They have a privacy policy, but it really doesn’t say anything useful.

How I Seeded my SpamTrap

Sunday, July 18th, 2004 9:10 am

What is a “SpamTrap?” A spamtrap is simply an email address that is not in active use by a person, and is instead used to collect spam. The usual way to do this is once someone leaves a company, to use their old email address. I do that at work (after I unsubscribe the address from the mailing lists it is on.) but now I also am using the spammer’s tricks against them. They have been spamming addresses that do not (and have never) existed at planetmike. So I simply convert them from my catchall account into my spamtrap account. Makes for a lot less strain on my mail server, as I don’t have to run any spam tests on messages coming into that account. I simply get all of those messages as spam automatically. Today I went through my catchall mailbox and added over 100 addresses to my spamtrap.

Ways to Speed up Download Time

Friday, July 16th, 2004 4:15 pm

This page gives a fairly obvious list of things to do to speed up your web page.

Branding the Web

Thursday, July 15th, 2004 8:55 am

An interesting article on Brand Value and the User Experience. And another artilce Brand Experience and the Web.

Address in a graphic is legal?

Saturday, July 3rd, 2004 8:34 am

I wonder if a spammer putting their physical address in a graphic is legal, according to CAN-SPAM. The losers at TimeSavers are putting their mailing address as a graphic image, instead of as text.

More LifeSavers, or LifeSavers direct

Saturday, July 3rd, 2004 8:24 am

More garbage from the losers at LifeSavers direct, now called TimeSavers Direct. I love how they don’t believe that the CAN-SPAM law applies to them. Oh yeah, they are spammers, and spammers don’t have any decency in the first place, that’s why they steal. Why should we (or Congress) expect them to follow the rules?

64.70.20.66 ci5.tmsevrdrt.com
64.70.20.67 smtp3.trdir.com
64.70.20.68 ai7.tmvrt.com
64.70.20.69 zj1.tmdrctt.com
64.70.20.70 yj2.tmsvrdet.com
64.70.20.71xj3.tesvrdct.com
64.70.20.72 wj4.tedrct.com
64.70.20.73 vj5.tesevrdt.com
64.70.20.74 uj6.tevrdir.com
64.70.20.75 tj7.tervrdt.com
64.70.20.76 sk1.tisvrdet.com
64.70.20.77 rk2.tiservrdt.com
64.70.20.78 qk3.tvsredrt.com

64.70.17.66 fg5.tsplntwk.com
64.70.17.67 fg6.tsdntdcet.com
64.70.17.68 fk3.tsdnt.com
64.70.17.69 fo1.trgtspl.com
64.70.17.70 fr7.tntwerksp.com
64.70.17.71 fv5.tegtspecnd.com
64.70.17.72 fz3.tdssnt.com
64.70.17.73 gc6.tdisnets.com
64.70.17.74 gc7.targtspls.com
64.70.17.75 gg4.tagsplntdr.com
64.70.17.76 smtp3.tsndirect.com
64.70.17.77 gk2.targetedspecialsnetwrkdirect.com
64.70.17.78 smtp3.tsndirect.com

Subscribe by RSS

Use my RSS feed to stay up to date


WordPress Plugins


Most Popular Posts


Stuff


Copyright © 1997-2008 Michael Boyd Clark
PlanetMike’s Technology Journal is proudly powered by WordPress
Entries (RSS) and Comments (RSS).